top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKrista

Mothers day, Quarantine, and LIFE

Updated: May 27, 2020

First of all, if yesterday was your first mothers day, HAPPY FREAKING MOTHERS DAY! you are an amazing MAMA and you deserve to know just how special you are and that you are doing a FANTASTIC job with your little!


I think that i've just decided Hayden's first year alive were calling jumanji. First we have a pandemic, which is currently still happening, next we have killer hornets; Does anyone want to make a guess on what the next level is going to be? ;)


Lastly, I know that my post is technically a day late since we do new posts Sundays, but I wanted to write about mothers day and I had to let mothers day happen in order to talk about it.


Does your family do anything fun for mothers day? Is it just another day? Now that I am a mama, I feel like I really understand the importance of celebrating all that you have gone through, and all that you have sacrificed to get to the point of being a mama. YES, I have always let my own mother know how important she is on mothers day, but until you go through child birth I feel like you can't really comprehend just how special that person truly is.


Onto my actual first mothers day...........


Well actually i'm going to start with the day before, because that is really where my first mothers day started honestly. Saturday morning I found out that my grandmother had fallen the night before and shattered her ankle. She lives in the middle of the country and was ambulanced to the hospital closest to her. With COVID-19 however, NO ONE and yes I mean not even a support person was allowed to be in there with her! For family that makes things REALLY hard! You can't get the information you need and not only that but with being in a rush and everything she didn't have her phone or anything to be able to contact us with other then the hospital phone once she was settled into her room for the night, which was more like the next day.... Now Saturday afternoon my mom let me know that she may not be able to come up and social distance with us because we didn't know what was going to be happening with my grandma. At this point we knew she was going to need surgery, but we did not know when and she was also going to be staying with my mom for a few weeks to have someone be able to help take care of her.


Later Saturday we found out that her surgery was scheduled for early Sunday morning. My mom was able to come up and social distance with us for a few hours and my grandmas surgery went great and she is currently at my moms recovering now; But man what a story to tell Hayden in a few years when he can understand all of this!


The rest of Sunday was spent outside social distancing with other family and celebrating the mothers in our lives. We were outside, enjoying sunshine and warmth, barbecuing and catching up with loved ones we have not seen in a while. The only thing I can say I would have changed is my grandmother not getting hurt, but why not add to the chaos that is life?

I was showered with gifts and love from family and friends, my family is healthy (and healing) and it was a beautiful sunny day. You really can not get better! and next we celebrate Eric's first fathers day!


The most special gift I received was from Hayden and Eric though, they got me a ring set that had both of my favorite dates. Hayden's birthday and Eric and I's anniversary. Also, shout out to my boys, because without either of them, I would not be a mama, and being a mama is truly something special!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page